Publications

NON-FICTION

How to Ask for What You Want and Need (No, it’s Not Selfish)

How to Ask for What You Want and Need (No, It’s Not Selfish)

FICTION

UNDER SHIFTING STARS
[Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020]

Praise for Under Shifting Stars:

Junior Library Guild gold standard selection

“Highly relatable. . . an accurate and gut-wrenching depiction of the uncertainty of growing up and finding oneself. [Latos] emphasizes the pain that comes from knowing that someone you love has changed without you along with the fear of being left behind. Bullying of queer and neurodivergent students is shown in all of its bitter truth. At the same time, Latos reassures readers that these situations are not hopeless.” – KIRKUS Reviews

“Sharply observed, laugh-out-loud funny, and entirely necessary; Under Shifting Stars shines like a supernova.” – Ashley Little, author of Anatomy of a Girl Gang and Confessions of a Teenage Leper

“Luminous and lovely, heart-breaking and ultimately hopeful, this shimmering new novel explores how to be ourselves in a hard world.” – Alice Kuipers, author of Life on the Refrigerator Door

“A gutting and exquisite portrait of resilience in the face of grief, Under Shifting Stars renders the complexities of life and love as twins struggle to find themselves and the connection they’ve lost. Audrey and Clare are achingly real with voices that are masterfully distinct. Suspended in melodic prose that had my heart aching to the very end, Latos renders hope in a novel that is unlike anything I’ve ever read.” – Heather Ezell, author of Nothing Left to Burn

Description:

This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother’s death and their changing relationships–with each other and themselves.

Audrey’s best friend was always her twin, Clare. But as they got older, they grew apart, and when their brother Adam died, Clare blamed Audrey for the accident. Now, Audrey’s attending an alternative school where she feels more isolated than ever. Tired of being seen as different from her neurotypical peers, Audrey’s determined to switch to the public high school, rebuild her friendship with Clare, and atone for Adam’s death . . . but she’ll need to convince her parents, and her therapist, first.

Clare knows her sister thinks she’s the perfect twin, but Audrey doesn’t realize that Clare’s popular” status is crumbling-she’s begun to question old friendships, dress in Adam’s clothes, and wonder what feelings for a nonbinary classmate, Taylor, might mean. As she grapples with not only grief but also her gender fluidity, Clare wonders where she’ll belong if she sheds her carefully constructed image and embraces her true self.

Will first crushes, new family dynamics, and questions of identity prove that Audrey and Clare have grown too different to understand each other-or that they’ve needed each other all along?

Final Instalove cover

INSTALOVE
[Bloomsbury USA, 2016]

A month after losing her mother, Avery Edwards arrives on campus alone and shattered, hoping only to make it through the year and stay under the radar. Until she meets Declan Hargrove, ex-teen heartthrob and campus celebrity, who just so happens to be her Resident Advisor. With dark hair and striking blue eyes, Declan definitely lives up to the rumors. Unfortunately, so does his reputation.

The night before Avery arrived on campus, Declan was caught with his pants down. Literally. The “Stairwell Video”, as everyone dubs the sex tape, only makes Declan more desirable on campus, while it turns the girl into an instant pariah. Livid at the double standard, Avery does everything she can to stay away from him…which is easier said than done since they live in the same building.

Limelight: A Golden Light Anthology features tales of new worlds and old worlds and worlds yet to be. These stories twist and turn with adventure, intrigue, and wonder. This anthology of short stories brings science fiction and fantasy out of the shadows and into the limelight.